Municipal Affairs and Environment

Protected Road Zoning Regulations Review

Initiated in 1959, there are currently 36 major and secondary highways across the province that are designated as protected roads under the Protected Road Zoning Regulations (CNLR 996/96) of the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000. These regulations establish a building control line along these protected roads where development is controlled to ensure public safety, traffic efficiency, and provide for consistent development.

It has been some time since the Protected Road Zoning Regulations were reviewed in a comprehensive manner. These regulations need to be updated and modernized to reflect the socio-economic changes that have occurred across Newfoundland and Labrador and bring them in line with current land use management and planning practice.

The Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment is responsible for the development and management of the protected road zoning plans pursuant to sections 32 and 33 of the Urban and Rural Planning Act, 2000. Currently, there are 17 protected road plans in effect. These plans and development regulations set out the process for the review of development applications.

On protected roads where there is no plan, the regulations provide a mechanism for land use and regulatory control until such time that a plan is brought into effect. Service NL is responsible for administration of development applications for conformance with the regulations or the applicable protected road zoning plan.

This review will focus on updating and modernizing the Protected Road Zoning Regulations which can be found at the following link: // External link

A list of the protected roads and maps showing the location of the protected roads can be found at the following link:
Protected Roads PDF (825 KB)

How to Get Involved

The department is seeking views from the municipal stakeholders, the general public and any other interested persons or groups. Feedback received will be used to inform the Protected Road Zoning Regulation review.

Comments should be submitted to the Department of Municipal and Intergovernmental Affairs by January 23, 2015.

Department of Municipal and Intergovernmental Affairs
West Block, Confederation Building
P.O. Box 8700
St. John's, NL A1B 4J6
Att: Anna Myers

Dedicated phone line 709-729-3090
Comments received will be reviewed and collated into a summary document that will be made publicly available in Spring 2014.

Adobe® Acrobat® Reader software can be used for viewing PDF documents. Download Acrobat® Reader for free opens new window

Last Updated:
This page and all contents are copyright, Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, all rights reserved.